health · stress free zone

The Conveyor of Pain

Deciding it was time to get in gear on my health, I put on my Body by Bacon tank from The Chic Site  and started working out today. I use the term “working out” loosely, but hey it’s a start.  I got on the treadmill for twenty minutes and did not quite a jog, but not really a walk (I think it’s called a power walk).  Don’t judge me I said I used the term loosely, though I did do twenty-five squats right before I jumped on the treadmill or as I like to call it, The Conveyor of Pain.

To most people, this is nothing, for me, it’s a lot. I don’t want to lose weight.  I actually like the weight I’m at, but I do want to tone up all the places my body has decided it was tired of fighting gravity and gave up.  I also want to turn to exercise to relieve stress and feel better about myself when I’m on a Stand Up Paddling board and not breathing like I’ve just swam across the ocean.

With sitting at a desk all day then writing all night, I don’t spend a lot of time taking care of myself physically. So, I’m going to try to get on the treadmill at least four times a week.  I’m going to do my best to stick with it and the best way I know to do this is if I don’t work out I don’t get coffee that day.  That’s a whole heck of a lot of motivation for me.  I love my hazelnut mochas.

Processed with VSCO
I could barely move here.  Please ignore the empty toilet paper holder, the construction was finished with our bathroom just days ago.

 

I’m going to let you in on something a little (a lot) embarrassing…. My workout was this morning and I’m writing this at night and my legs are so sore already it hurts to stand, sit, and walk.  How ridiculous is that?  I’m going to convince myself it was the squats and not the treadmill that has my legs screaming for me to stop moving immediately.

Leave a Reply

