Uncategorized

Mountains

Recently, I watched a video of a man and woman who sold all of their possessions and moved to Costa Rica. Something they said resonated with me and my heart has begun a journey and I have no idea where the destination will be.  I don’t know if it’s geological or spiritually, I just know I need to go there.

The one thing I have learned in my almost forty years on earth is the more you have the more stress you have. I always wanted the awesome career, the money, the house, the cars.  I have all of those, granted, not the crème de la crème, but I have a large two-story house, two cars, five televisions, two computers, and debt to my eyeballs.  The more money my husband and I made, the more we spent, the more we spent, the more debt we had to the point now that if one of us were to lose our job, we would be screwed.  Since I work in the unstable oil and gas industry, the stress is slowly killing me.

Am I happy?

I am happy in my marriage. I am happy as a mother, but I am not happy with myself.  I spend so much time looking at our banking accounts, praying something doesn’t break in the house (and it often does) because I just about had that credit card paid down and don’t want to max it out again.

I do my best to be the best at everything, but at what cost? I don’t exercise because I work between nine and ten hours a day then I come home, cook, and then write until bedtime.  I rarely have time to get out of a desk chair, much less spend time with family and friends.

I go to work so stressed out that I’m going to be the next on the chopping block that I literally have chest pains and panic attacks. The last few years the ulcer I’ve had has been a volcano in my gut constantly erupting.

This is not the life I want.

I’ve been feeling it lately. That missing something screaming at me to take a step back and look at my life and myself and see what needed to change, because I don’t want to spend my life like this.  I don’t want to die from the stress of the life I created.

The one thing I know is I want to be a fulltime writer, experiencing the adventures I write.

So, here’s the start to my plan. Less is more.  Simple as that.  LESS IS MORE.

We’re going to get rid of our excessive expenses, sell what we can, move to a smaller place, and enjoy life. Travel.  Work less.  Eat better.  Have adventures.  Take that yoga class.  Spend time with family and friends.  Enjoy writing again.

What good is having all these nice things if we don’t enjoy them? I’m ready to enjoy my life.  I am ready to discover what my life can be like if I take the chance on letting go of some of the things making me unhappy.  Sure, this is going to take time to make happen, but my husband and I are committed to doing our best and trying.

So, let the journey begin!

Leave a Reply

